By my side

I am so sad. This violent week in America has made me want to fall on my knees and weep in anguish. I don’t want to say much about it, because it already seems like everyone is talking and no one is listening. Believe me, my opinions are no better than yours.

And it is so hard right now to not pick a side. I examine every social media post and wonder, “Are they on my side? Am I on their side? Which side is this?” I am tired of sides. 

So I am asking you now, instead of being on my side, can you be by my side? Would you be sad with me? Can you sit by my side and be sad, too? Can you set aside the risk that you might not be “on my side” and just be “by my side”? Because we all have something in common. We are all sad. We are all heartbroken about the broken, dark state of this world. How about we stop worrying about being on the right side, and start being by each other’s side? 

So please sit by my side while I am heartbroken for the families of Alton Sterling and Philandro Castile. They were loved. They will be missed. And that is heartbreaking. 

Please sit by my side while I am heartbroken over the loss of the officers in Dallas. Mourn with me that it was so senseless and evil and sad. Be broken hearted for the families. Remember the survivors and the long road of recovery for them.

Please sit by my side and be sad for mamas of young black kids who have legitimate concern for their children in this world. Be broken hearted with me for Baton Rogue and St. Paul, as they must do the hard work of rebuilding trust. 

Please sit by my side while I am heartbroken for the good and loyal officers who show up and serve to the grateful and the ungrateful. Be broken hearted by the betrayal they feel but ignore.

Friends, it is so lonely to be sad. Sit down by my side and be sad with me. And I will sit by yours and be sad with you.
Bless your enemies; no cursing under your breath. Laugh with your happy friends when they’re happy; share tears when they’re down. Get along with each other; don’t be stuck-up. Make friends with nobodies; don’t be the great somebody. Romans 12:14-16 (The Message)
photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/94075184@N00/26535825126″>Had a bad day</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licmenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Tell me what you think!